St.Catharines Wards & City Councillors

whats-your-ward

The municipal level (from the Latin municipalis, meaning of a citizen of a free town).

This is the level of government that is usually based in a city, town or district (a municipality). Municipal governments are responsible for areas such as libraries, parks, community water systems, local police, roadways and parking. They receive authority for these areas from the provincial governments.

Ward 1 – Merritton

ward1merritton

City Councillors

David Haywood – dhaywood@stcatharines.ca
Jennie Stevens – jstevens@stcatharines.ca

Ward 2 – St. Andrew’s

ward2standrews

City Councillors

Matt Harris – mharris@stcatharines.ca
Joe Kushner – jkushner@stcatharines.ca

Ward 3 – St. George’s

ward3stgeorges

City Councillors

Mike Britton – mbritton@stcatharines.ca
Sal Sorento – ssorento@stcatharines.ca

Ward 4 – St.Patricks

ward4stpatricks

City Councillors

Mark Elliott – melliott@stcatharines.ca
Mat Siscoe – msiscoe@stcatharines.ca

Ward 5 – Grantham

ward5grantham

City Councillors

Sandie Bellows – sbellows@stcatharines.ca
Bill Phillips – bphillips@stcatharines.ca

Ward 6 – Port Dalhousie

ward6port

City Councillors

Carlos Garcia – cgarcia@stcatharines.ca
Bruce Williamson – bwilliamson@stcatharines.ca

Mayor

stc1

Walter Sendzik – mayor@stcatharines.ca

Mayor of St.Catharines responsibilities include: acting as the municipality’s chief executive officer and representing the municipality at official functions, presiding over council meetings, providing the council with leadership, carrying out the duties of a head of council, upholding and promoting the purposes of the municipality, promoting public involvement in the municipality’s activities, participating in and fostering activities that enhance the economic, social and environmental well-being of the municipality and its residents.

City of St.Catharines Code of Conduct for Elected Officials, Local Boards and Advisory Committees

“A written Code of Conduct reinforces the City of St. Catharines’s Accountability and Transparency Policy and other relevant legislation within which all members of Council, local boards and advisory committees must operate. It ensures that those members share a common integrity base and through adherence to its principles, the Code of Conduct serves to enhance public trust.”

St.Catharines Code of Conduct

More information on St.Catharines Municipal Government is available at www.stcatharines.ca

Sources:
https://www.stcatharines.ca/en/governin/Ward-Map.asp
http://www.lop.parl.gc.ca/About/Parliament/Education/ourcountryourparliament/html_booklet/three-levels-government-e.html
https://www.stcatharines.ca/en/governin/OfficeOfTheMayor.asp

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s